President Mutharika re-elected in tight race

Malawi’s president Peter Mutharika has been declared winner in a hotly contested May 21, 2019 election which was marred by irregularities.

Mutharika narrowly beat Malawi Congress Party (MCP) president Lazarus Chakwera who earlier obtained a stay order restraining the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) from announcing the results citing irregularities in 10 districts.

Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) Chairperson Justice Dr Jane Ansah announced on Monday that Mutharika, amassed  1, 940, 709  votes out of the 6, 859, 570 votes cast representing 38.58 percent while Chakwera amassed 1, 781, 740 votes representing 35.41 percent.

According to Ansah, UTM leader, Dr. Saulos Klaus Chilima has finished third with 1, 016, 368 votes representing 20.4 percent with Atupele Muluzi of United Democratic Front (UDF) amassing 236, 164 votes representing 4.67 percent while John Chisi of Umodzi Party accumulated 19, 187 votes representing 0.31 percent.

Mbakuwaku Movement for Development (MMD) President, Peter Dominic Sinos Driver Kuwani has amassed 20, 360 votes representing 0.40 percent followed by independent candidate Revelend Hardwick Kaliya with 15, 726 votes representing 0.21 percent.

Ansah said the results are a true reflection of people’s will.

“This is the decision of more than 6, 859, 570 Malawians who turned out in their large numbers and voted for the president of their choice,” she said.

The swearing-in ceremony of Mutharika and vice president elect Everton Chimulirenji will take place on Tuesday afternoon at the Kamuzu Stadium in Blantyre.

Malawi has conducted six democratic elections since attaining its independence on July 6, 1964.

About Augustine Muwotcha

View all posts by Augustine Muwotcha →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *