MCP beats DPP in by-elections

The opposition Malawi Congress Party (MCP) has won all three parliamentary seats and two ward councilors in Tuesday’s by-elections.

Official results showed that MCP claimed Nsanje Lalanje, Lilongwe Msozi North and Lilongwe City South East parliamentary seats as well as Ndirande Makata and Mtsiliza wards.

Nsanje Lalanje constituency has gone to MCP’s Lawrence Sitolo who got 8,775 votes where as DPP’s Gladys Ganda amassed 5,453 votes.

In Lilongwe City South East, Ulemu Msungama of MCP got 6,722 votes while Reuben Ngwenya of DPP amassed 3,597.

In Lilongwe Msozi North Constituency, MCP’s Sosten Gwengwe got 10,015 votes followed by Bruno Daka of DPP.

Official results showed that the governing DPP has only won in Mayani North Ward.

The elections were held in three wards and three constituencies in Lilongwe, Dedza, Blantyre and Nsanje districts.

About Augustine Muwotcha

View all posts by Augustine Muwotcha →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *