Voter registration phase 4 starts Thursday

Voter registration phase four for the 2019 polls has commenced on Thursday in Blantyre City, Blantyre Rural, Ntcheu, Chikwawa and Mwanza.

According to the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) the exercise runs from August 16 – 29.

Meanwhile, MEC has expressed satisfaction with how the third phase of mass voter registration was conducted.

The third phase covered Lilongwe City and Lilongwe District.

MEC Commissioner Dr Moffat Banda said the pollster is impressed with the progress of voter registration.

He however observed that there’s still more work to be done in order to have a successful voter registration exercise ahead of the 2019 polls.

The commission was criticized by various stakeholders due to low turnout which marred the first phase of voter registration.

The first phase covered Kasungu, Dedza and Salima districts while the second phase covered Nkhotakota, Ntchisi, Dowa and Mchinji.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *