2019 Airtel Top 8 achievers awarded

Achievers in different categories of the 2019 Airtel Top 8 Cup were on Thursday awarded their prize money by the sponsors in a ceremony held at Reserve Bank of Malawi club house in Lilongwe.

In the media category, two journalists from Nation Publications Limited, Singayazi Kaminjolo and Clement Chinoko scooped the Best Print and Best Online Journalist awards respectively.

Best Radio Journalist award went to Frank Kandu of the state owned Malawi Broadcasting Corporation (MBC) while the Best TV award went to Yasin Limu of TV Islam.

All the winning journalists went away with K200, 000 each.

Surprisingly there was no winner in the category of Best Photographer award because, according to Football Association of Malawi (FAM) Commercial Director, Limbani Matola, the submissions did not meet the set criteria.

On the other hand, Silver Strikers FC went away with K15 million for emerging the Airtel Top 8 champions after beating Karonga United 1-0 in the final match played at Bingu National Stadium on July 29 while Karonga United were awarded K5 million for finishing as runners-up.

Silver Strikers controversial forward, Khuda Muyawa, pocketed K500, 000 for snatching a golden boot award with only two goals.

Football Association of Malawi (FAM) first vice president, James Mwenda, said he is confident that this year’s competition has been run smoothly enough to convince Airtel Malawi to continue sponsoring the trophy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *