Parliament maintains Nankhumwa

Parliament has maintained Mulanje Central legislature Kondwani Nankhumwa as Leader of Opposition quashing a decision by Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) President Peter Mutharika to replace Nankhumwa with Nsanje Central Parliamentarian Francis Kasaila.

First Deputy Speaker of Parliament Madalitso Kadzombo announced in the Chamber that the office of the Speaker had received communication from Mutharika about change of leadership in the opposition side which saw the removal of Nankhumwa from the office of Leader of Opposition.

But in a twist of events, Mulanje West lawmaker Yusuf Nthenda rose on a point of order saying the decision to remove Nankhumwa has been made without the knowledge of other DPP National Executive Committee members.

Nthenda also said Standing Order 35 of the August House says that the seat of opposition leader shall be obtained through a vote by the party not in Government having the greatest numerical strength in Parliament rather than being appointed by someone who is not even a Member of Parliament.

As a lawyer I am so obsessed to justice, the leader of opposition is supposed to be elected not appointed this is according to Standing Order 35 (1) and it is illegal and unprofessional for President Mutharika to make such an appointment,” said Nthenda.

Meanwhile, Nankhumwa says he is surprised and he will investigate the matter.

In fact it came to me as a surprise because I was taken unaware, I didn’t know what is happening until the 1st Deputy Speaker announced that communication.”

“So I am yet to investigate and see what is happening because I have not even been served with the copy of that letter so until I investigate that’s when I will be able to come back to you,” said the calm and collected Nankhumwa.

Recently, there has been allegations from the DPP saying that Nankhumwa imposed himself as Opposition Leader.

About Augustine Muwotcha

View all posts by Augustine Muwotcha →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *