2nd phase of voter registration starts Monday

Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) says it will roll out the second phase of voter registration for the presidential elections from April 27 this year.

In a statement signed by Chief Elections Officer, Sam Alfandika said the phase will run for two weeks in the ten councils which include Rumphi, Likoma, Dowa, Lilongwe District, Lilongwe City, Luchenza Municipality, Phalombe, Mulanje and Thyolo.

Alfandika also those that have changed residences should report to the new centres they now belong to in order to process transfers and that they should bring their voter certificates for efficiency.

He also said people who are eligible to register are only those that have turned 18 and above, or will attain voting age by 11 June 2020 or those that never registered as voters during the 2019 Tripartite Elections.

The commission also reminded those that lost their voter certificates to go and get duplicate certificates at the centre they registered.

He added that it will go back to centers that ended prematurely during the first phase.

“Commission is aware that phase one ended prematurely and will revisit the councils covered after the last phases of voter registration to ensure that all registration centers have run for the minimum statutory period of 14 days,” reads the statement.

Further to that MEC advised eligible voters without national ID to register with National Registration Bureau (NRB) and thereafter use the slip as proof of registration to register as a voter with MEC.

Should all things be equal, the electoral body MEC said the presidential election will be on July 2 this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *